Register    Login    Forum    Search    FAQ

Board index » General Discussion » Shamanism

Post subject: Why don't you call yourself "Shaman?"
 Post Posted: Wed May 23, 2012 4:42 pm 

I am fairly new to the shamanic path, just scraping the surface and preparing to dive in whole heartedly. I'd first like to thank you all for providing such insight in your posts. Even through disagreements, there is love and acceptance.

Something that has stood out to me more than once is someone saying, "I practice Shamanism, but I'd NEVER call myself a Shaman."
"Others call me Shaman, although I'd NEVER refer to myself as such."

Why is this? It seems to me that if the community you serve calls you a Shaman, and you know you've been on the long and dedicated path of Shamanic practice, you wouldn't be opposed to referring to yourself as a Shaman. Is this simply a fear that one would seem egotistical if one accepted the label? Or is it considered distasteful to call oneself a Shaman, and instead to let those you work with decide if they will refer to you that way?

Or is it something else entirely?

Thanks again for all your wisdom and unconditional support. <3

Post subject: Re: Why don't you call yourself "Shaman?"
 Post Posted: Wed May 23, 2012 6:54 pm 

Thinking a bit further on this, I understand that some may want to refrain from labelling themselves as anything but a "person." ie. I am me, you are you, we are beings experiencing this existence together.

However, Shamans provide an essential service to their community, so is it really that strange to refer to yourself as such? I imagine it along the lines of saying I'm a doctor. I am a healer. I'm a musician. I am a female. Not making more of yourself by putting labels on it, but more just letting people be aware of a part of you?

Post Posted: Thu May 31, 2012 4:01 am 

My ideas on this question are a bit long, but here they are -