Register    Login    Forum    Search    FAQ

Board index » General Discussion » Shamanism

Post subject: what to refer to yourself as
 Post Posted: Sun Feb 03, 2008 12:01 pm 

I am just beginning to put myself out there as a shamanic teacher and practitioner.

What is some acceptable ways to refer to oneself as?

Post subject:
 Post Posted: Sun Feb 03, 2008 9:42 pm 

Hi Alight,

In my opinion, the choice of what to "call yourself" can be sought in a variety of places:
- do you come from a particular set of training, that provides a "title"?
- did you make an oath, a vow, or a commitment?
- is there a set of skills you utilize most frequently?

And I would suggest being honest with the level of mastery, you are at within those skills or practices. If you are an apprentice, then consider stating you are an apprentice. If you have truly mastered an aspect, then consider using a term which indicates mastery.

And finally let your feelings about what you will be called, speak to you. As you "try out" titles, your body will let you know what feels comfortable and safe, what makes you feel like you are stretching and adventurous, and what makes you feel like a fraud.

Just thoughts,

Post subject: Re: what to refer to yourself as
 Post Posted: Mon Feb 04, 2008 7:52 pm 

alight wrote:
I am just beginning to put myself out there as a shamanic teacher and practitioner.

I did two things: First - I looked at the things I actually do. That is: Dancing and singing Choomey (especially during shamanic sessions). So I decided second - how I could name both things in a way that describes more exactly the spiritual part of the whole thing. Labeling myself a Spellsinger (I prefer Bannsänger in german) was best choice between: chaosmagician, conjuror, angel magician or exorcist. I ended up with the exact things I do and could add more.

Maybe this is the way you should choose in this question? I am being called shaman, but I do not call myself shaman.

Yours,

Apu Kuntur

Post subject: