Register    Login    Forum    Search    FAQ

Board index » General Discussion » Shamanism

Post subject: Just beyond my grasp
 Post Posted: Sat Jan 31, 2009 9:24 am 

Hi,

I'm new to shamanism. I consider myself to be quite serious in my efforts to learn and grow spiritually. I'm a husband and father, busy in the realities of domestic life. As a young boy I spent most of my time wandering in the forest with my dog. I had a strong connection to the trees, soil, sky, . . . In my first year of high school I moved from my childhood home to the neighboring town. I immediately felt alone and isolated. I immediately felt a sense of loss from my childhood earth connection. In need of something I divided my time between partying pot smokers and intellectuals. I am today an artist still very much interested in the natural world, but feeling disconnected from it due to my domestic responsibilities. I practice yoga and meditate as often as I can. I feel a deep spirituality within me. A couple of years ago I stumbled upon a book by Alberto VIlloldo on soul retrieval and experienced in a dream state something akin to what Villoldo described in the book, then the book disappeared. I have once experimented with Salvia Divinorum, an experience I consider to be profoundly spiritual, but something I'd prefer to be a one-time thing. I've just read some of the postings about power animals. I have never tried to summon a power animal because I know nothing of shamanism, but I believe that mine might be a bird. I believe this for a number of reasons, for example: One day while on a painting excursion on Monhegan Island, in Maine I was alone, wandering on my way to paint the landscape and at various time throughout the day I was surprised by a birds. I encountered a pheasant, raven, and hawk. To a birder this is not unusual, the surprising manner which these three presented themselves I had a feeling at the time that something unusual was happening. Monhegan is well known by painters, and