Register    Login    Forum    Search    FAQ

Board index » General Discussion » Shamanic Journeys

Post subject: Troubles with imagination
 Post Posted: Thu Feb 04, 2010 5:00 pm 

I'm rather new to meditation in general, I've been practicing for a few months now fairly consistantly, and journeyed a few times.

I don't know what this means, but I don't seem to be able to control my imagination. It seems to make things happen all on it's own. Usually what happens is every time I go through to tunnel and reach the other side, I fall back into the tunnel. Maybe it means I'm not spending enough time in the tunnel, and I really don't spend a lot of time there, but there are other signs that point elsewhere.

It seems to happen everytime I'm scared of something happening, like falling off an edge or cliff, I seem to see it happening to me over and over again. For instance I did a guided meditation multiple times where I was led over a bridge over a huge canyon, but couldn't control my imagination. All I kept seeing was the bridge breaking or seeing myself jump off.

Post subject:
 Post Posted: Fri Feb 05, 2010 10:13 am 

Hi Kstep,

Well, the beginning point of shamanic journey work is to NOT control your imagination. Journeying is all about letting things happen on their own in non-ordinary reality. It is about learning to trust the process that occurs in non-ordinary reality. That means, that if the bridge is about to collapse under your feet in your vision - let it collapse - see where the fall lands you!