Register    Login    Forum    Search    FAQ

Board index » General Discussion » Shamanic Journeys

Post subject: Sleep paralysis and journeying
 Post Posted: Sat Jan 30, 2010 5:50 pm 

Hello everyone,

I am new to shamanism and like many others who have wrote on this forum, I too am having difficulty journeying. I have tried many times and although I have noticed an altering of state while I try to journey, the visions or journey itself seem to elude me.

I've read that when people have OBE's they induce sleep paralysis to "escape" there bodies. I've also heard that when in sleep paralysis people can enter dreams, have visions, journey, etc.

My question is, is inducing sleep paralysis a good way to journey, and if so does anyone have some tips on how to do this.

Post subject:
 Post Posted: Sat Jan 30, 2010 8:33 pm 

I don't think sleep paralysis is possible without some kind of drug. You can lucid dream, that's safe and natural, but there are many other ways of working a journey.
Use drumming or music if your not already. Actually drum while entering a trance. Do a bit of a dance. Take a shower first. Work out or go for a run for about a half hour. Get a couple meditation tapes off iTunes. Read a book on shamanism. Eat a salad first.
All these and more will help you slip easily into a trance.
But I believe that your problem might be that your over eager. If you try to throw yourself in (even if you don't think you're forcing it) it won't happen.
Just take things really slow. Visualize everything really really really thoroughly until you can use all your senses in the journey.

Post subject:
 Post Posted: Fri Feb 05, 2010 8:25 am 

Iron,

Here is something I want you to try. Have a friend take you to a few movies over the next few weeks. But make sure he tells you nothing about them.

Watch the movies and maybe half way through decide if you are allowing the movie to play for you or not