Register    Login    Forum    Search    FAQ

Board index » General Discussion » Shamanic Journeys

Post subject: Information on Sleep Paralysis
 Post Posted: Sat Apr 24, 2010 8:39 am 

I am new to shamanic practices, but I do know a thing or two about sleep paralysis for those of you who are interested. SP is a medical condition that effects brain chemistry. In normal sleep, chemicals are released to stop the bodies’ muscles from moving - and to prevent us from acting out dreams while we are having them. Sleep paralysis from what I understand, is an excess of these chemicals, so while you are mentally awake you are still physically incapacitated.

I have the chronic type, which means I get it sometimes, whether I want to or not. From what I have heard, people that do not have the condition can still have isolated episodes, but it is rare. Many episodes are accompanied by something called the "Old Hag" which is a form that sits on your chest making it hard to breath, or the feeling of an evil "presence" that cannot be seen. For lack of a better description, it feels like it wants to steal your soul. I've only had one OBE ever. It was during sleep paralysis. I stepped out of my body to grab a nearby baseball bat to keep the old hag away when it came for my sleeping form. uggh.

I am not trying to dissuade people from experimenting with SP - though it’s uncomfortable and many times scary, I still experiment with it myself because I find it fascinating. That being said, I’ve notice a few things that cause it to happen more often.

Melatonin: It’s a vitamin sold over the counter for sleep regulation. People with mild sleep trouble take it to smooth out the circadian rhythm. It is also excellent for helping with dreams. People who don't dream often remember their dreams better, and people who do dream often report more vivid and lucid dreaming. I've noticed I also have a higher chance of getting sleep paralysis.