Register    Login    Forum    Search    FAQ

Board index » General Discussion » Shamanic Journeys

Post subject: I'm new and looking for advice.
 Post Posted: Sun Feb 07, 2010 3:00 pm 

Hello there, I'm Kevin and I'm rather new to shamantic journeying, and extremely interested. I've done some Zen style meditation every day for the last few months, but it doesn't seem to fit me very well. I had tried shamanic journeying before and had success, but didn't stick with it. Now I wonder why that was the case!

I feel like every step I have taken in my life has led me to shamanism. I love to journey, and have been doing it in 10 minute sessions from 3-5 times a day for the last week. I really cant get enough of it. I know I'm sounding a bit ahead of myself for someone whos just began, but I've currently decided that I want to go to South America and study shamanism in a tribe! It may sound dreamy but I've always wanted to live in an isolated society, use hallucinogenic drugs for sheerly spiritual purposes, and get really up close and personal to such a spiritual religion (if you can even call it a religion).

So the point of this post was to ask for advice, related to journeying especially, for someone as new as me. Right now I can't afford to take online courses or anything of that nature (though I do plan on taking some in the future) and there really doesn't seem to be a whole lot of good, free info out there on the web.

I'll walk you through one of my sessions so you can see what I know and critique me or give me pointers.