Register    Login    Forum    Search    FAQ

Board index » General Discussion » Shamanic Journeys

Post subject: How can I tell if the experience was genuine?
 Post Posted: Wed May 09, 2012 4:32 am 

Hello all,
I am quite new to shamanism, but i've been drawn towards the occult for a very long time and i've done a bit of meditation the last couple of years. Nothing very serious though.

Yesterday, as i was reading 'The way of the shaman' by Michael Harner, learning about power animals a dream from my childhood popped into my head. It was one of the most real and enjoyable dreams i've ever had: i was a wolf-man and i was running very fast on two legs, jumping over cars, feeling the wind as i wooshed by. I could feel i was very strong and the fact that i could jump so far and high and run so fast was exhilarating. Also a small bat was accompanying me, flying about 3 feet above me as i ran. I didn't pay much attention to the dream at that moment, but the joyous feeling of running and jumping stuck with me.
Anyway, yesterday i tried to go on my first shamanic journeys. I tried to journey first in the afternoon, and again at night as i went to sleep.
The first time i went from an entrance hole through a very short tunnel into a cave which led out to a lake with a rocky beach, and beyond the beach a thick forest. Everything was kind of confusing, and i kept alternating between the entrace hole, the cave, the lake and back again. Even now i can't tell if i was willingly immagining the lake or if it popped into my imagination. At one time i entered the forest and as the drum seemed to start to sound like a frog i found a frog near a small puddle in the forest, picked it up then let it go. It was hard to stay in one place for long. I exited through the hole again after exploring the beach a bit more.