Register    Login    Forum    Search    FAQ

Board index » General Discussion » Shamanic Help

Post subject: Writer and lover with block looking for help
 Post Posted: Mon Aug 06, 2012 7:32 pm 

Hello, Um first of all I have aspergers syndrome which stops me from usually being concouisly aware of many of my emotions...

Anyhoo... I'm a writer, I love writing and am fairly good at it. However starting a couple years ago when the love of my life who lives across the country from me left after a visit I suddenly could not write anymore. I am and was depressed too.. and I'm receiving treatment for that but it's been two years now and I can not write. Writing used to just flow from me. it was one of my drives in life, One of the only things that brought me pure joy and happiness but now... I can't...

I know one of my callings in life is to tech people about aspergers... But the urge to write is part of my calling too... more so it brought me so much happynes... but now.... Nothing.... I think soul loss could be part of this but it's been so long i think there is more too now...

Any help would be wonderful!

Post subject: Re: Writer and lover with block looking for help
 Post Posted: Wed Aug 08, 2012 8:55 am 

Hi Tansyuduri!

It's very tempting to want to keep persistently creating stuff in our lives - projects, homes, relationships, writing, art etc. but this flies in the face of the natural [Yinyang] "Law of Opposites".

Creativity has to be BALANCED by destructivity and this is encoded in our DNA - our ancestors had to violently chop down trees by hand to make homes, and had to cut and thresh [thrash!] corn to separate stalks from grain. Then the grain had to be BASHED violently by hand to make flour, etc. etc. We still see this balance of peaceful creativity and violent destructivity [e.g. hunting, killing and dismembering] in indigenous shamanic communities today and they have very little problem with either depression or "burnout".