Register    Login    Forum    Search    FAQ

Board index » General Discussion » Shamanic Help

Post subject: Shamanic Initiation, Death, Baron Samedi, and Psychompomp
 Post Posted: Wed Apr 20, 2011 4:29 pm 

Hello all; I'm new to shamanism in general. I'm very interested in acquiring shamanic knowledge to augment my own natural abilities in psychic protection, healing, divination and visions. My interests range through nearly all the old cultures that had shamans; Native Americas, Ojibwes, Obeahs and Hoodoo practitioners of west and central Africa, Aztec priests (I believe they're called nahuatls or nahuitls), Celtic shamans and Druids, as well was the Inuit people of Alaska and regions near Russia, Tibetan buddhists, Indian yogis, Hmong shamans, Australian aboriginees, and the Volva shaman women of the Nordic traditions. These also represent mythologies and pantheons that I have varying degrees of direct knowledge or experience with. I've practiced magic for eight years.

But I've never been able to meet or talk with anyone who can help me undergo a shamanic initiation and death ritual. I understand I must do these things in order to obtain the knowledge I seek. I am not trying or willing to interact with deities of any kind in order to obtain knowledge, as is common for young people interested in magic. They take the easy path and suffer; I want to take the right road, the hard road, to gain the knowledge. I have other concerns and thoughts regardng this initiation as well.