Register    Login    Forum    Search    FAQ

Board index » General Discussion » Shamanic Help

Post subject: Seeking a Shaman in Thailand
 Post Posted: Mon Dec 27, 2010 3:23 pm 

Hello!

I am an artist living in Brooklyn New York who works with trees and stones. I have just had the good fortune to win a round-trip plane ticket to anywhere that British Airways flies – except the Americas.
I must make my plane reservation by January 10th at the very latest. All contest winners travel to London on February 3rd and then I would depart for Thailand (if I raise the necessary money) on February 4th or 5th. I must return to the States no later than March 4th.

The goals for my trip, wherever I go, are to (a) show my artwork, (even if it's just a slide show), (b) meet study with indigenous artists (especially wood carvers), © meet and study with indigenous shamans/healers and (d) be a blessing to the people and places I encounter on my journey.

I’m seriously considering Thailand.
I speak only English, I am a woman traveling alone, I have very little money, I cannot use the ticket for anywhere in the Americas, and I want to go where it’s warm - so Thailand seemed to be one of the few options that fit my criteria.

There are shamans in Thailand who advertise on the web, but I'm skeptical – and they charge what seems to be very high prices to study with them, especially given the money exchange rate. I have no way of separating the people who pretend to be spiritual and are really in the business of ripping people off from those who are true masters -- nor do I know how to contact the “right” people.