Register    Login    Forum    Search    FAQ

Board index » General Discussion » Shamanic Help

Post subject: Help Getting Started
 Post Posted: Sun Feb 06, 2011 7:20 pm 

Hi all,

I'm fairly new to the shamanic experience but I'm starting to walk my path (accepting who I am, my gifts, my challenges, purposes, etc) and don't have access to a teacher (where I can meet/talk in a face to face session), and I'm wondering what reading material everyone would recommend?

(I'd like to develop a solid foundation of knowledge to accompany my own gifts/instincts so anything that starts with the basics and work through the complexities would be a great help)

Right now I'd like to really focus on working with earth spirits (especially animals) integrated with the psychic gifts I have.

Any (positive/useful) advice and suggested materials would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks everyone!

-
D

Post subject: Re: Help Getting Started
 Post Posted: Mon Feb 07, 2011 3:02 pm 

If you want to get in touch with nature....take a walk! Set you intention on experiencing/learning from nature and see what comes.
Shine!
m

Post Posted: Mon Feb 07, 2011 3:20 pm 

I suggest, if you haven't already, you get the book The Way of the Shaman by Michael Harner. It has been an inspiration to me and I call it my book of council. Whenever i'm in trouble or whenever i'm in a tight spot, I look through its pages. It never ceases to amaze me how many things are left to learn even after you've read that text a dozen times. The whole of the text is about the vision-guardian spirit complex and mostly theorizes and teaches you how to practice shamanism through your power animals.

Take the journey to the lower world to find your power animals. That would be your next step if you haven't already found one.

Post Posted: Thu Feb 17, 2011 2:58 pm